Gill’s lake View Hotel, circa 1890

Lake Wendouree was full to the brim this season, so full in fact, that on windy days the wave action was actually causing damage to the foreshore. The Annual report stated:

 “We feel sure that the City Council in its regard for our beautiful watering place will cause the required improvements and renovations to be at once effected. Our acknowledgement is due to the City Council for their great assistance in the past and we trust our efforts and successes will always merit their esteem.”

At the commencement of the season Mrs. Gill, of Gill’s Lakeview Hotel, generously donated handsome trophies to be competed for by members of the club. A large number of crews keenly took up the challenge with the winners being E. Davies (stroke), B. Darby (3), F. Robinson (2) and W. Thomas (bow). The next series of races were for trophies presented by club Captain Bennett. These races were contested in pairs and won by J. Ferris and W. Canning. The annual contest for the Officers’ trophies then ensued with J. Horn, J. Smith, C. Denniston and J. Robinson carrying off the cups.

At regattas the club was represented by John Anwyl at the Warrnambool Regatta who won the Junior Sculls and the pair of E.Ward and W.Thomas won the Maiden pairs. The club raced a maiden eight at Colac Regatta but owing to the rough conditions a good display of oarsmanship was rendered impossible. This problem of almost unrowable conditions at Colac Regatta became synonymous with the event.

At Melbourne Regatta the club was represented in three events-Maiden and Junior pairs and also a Maiden four. Again the crews all placed second. The club finally scored a win at Ballarat Regatta on with the crew of C. E. Denniston and F. Taylor in the Maiden pairs from a field of six crews. The club’s Maiden eight were easy winners at Barwon Regatta. Stroked by E. E. Herbert with F. Taylor and C. E .Denniston, H. Harding, W. Thomas, J. McKay, E. Ward and A. Clarke were the victorious crew. C.E.Denniston and F.Taylor with the win in the eight were our most successful oarsmen for the year.

Mr. J. B. Cameron, Secretary of the club this season, was also secretary of the Regatta committee. He was presented with a souvenir for his exertions and fine success in running Ballarat Regatta at a combined social evening at the City Hall. The club also made a presentation to him of a group of framed photos in recognition of his services to the club.

Warnambool Junior Sculls, John Anwyl, BCRC, 26th December 1893

%d bloggers like this: